Results of February 6 meeting

We are pleased to inform you that a significant step has been taken in our efforts to halt the 143rd Street Expansion Project. A resolution has been passed by the Public Works and Transportation Committee to temporarily cease the expansion, reflecting the concerns and sentiments expressed by our community members.

Homer Township’s involvement and advocacy have played a crucial role in bringing this to now go to a full board vote. We deeply appreciate each resident who voiced their concerns and contributed to this important decision. Together, we have demonstrated the strength of our community and our commitment to safeguarding its future.

February 15 – Final Vote on 143rd Expansion

The resolution will now proceed to a full County Board vote scheduled for February 15th. It is imperative we continue our efforts to ensure the will of the overwhelming majority of the residents. Those concerned are welcome Sign-in to speak will begin at 9:10 a.m., and the meeting will commence at 9:30 a.m. Should the County Board vote in favor of the resolution, the expansion project will be stopped.

DateTimeLocation
Feb 15, 2024Thursday at 9:10amWill County Board
302 N Chicago St, Joliet, IL 60432
2nd Floor

Video from ABC

(you will have to watch one ad, do not click on video until add is done)

Link to full article

Email Will County

Express your concerns and amplify our collective voice. We urge each resident to send emails emphasizing your thoughts on the expansion project to the following recipients:

  • CountyBoard@willcounty.gov
  • CountyBoard@willcountyillinois.com
  • Jennifer Bertino Tarrant jbertinotarrant@willcounty.gov
  • Joe VanDuyne jvanduyne@willcountyillinois.com
  • Katie Deane-Schlottman kdeaneschlottman@willcountyillinois.com
  • Dan Butler dbutler@willcountyillinois.com
  • Sherry Newquist snewquist@willcountyillinois.com
  • Annette Parker aparker@willcountyillinois.com
  • Sherry Williams swilliams@willcountyillinois.com
  • Natalie Coleman ncoleman@willcountyillinois.com
  • Vince Logan vlogan@willcountyillinois.com
  • Raquel Mitchell rmitchell@willcountyillinois.com
  • Destinee Ortiz dortiz@willcountyillinois.com
  • Elnalyn Costa ecosta@willcountyillinois.com
  • Jackie Traynere jtraynere@willcountyillinois.com
  • Judy Ogalla jogalla@willcountyillinois.com
  • Frankie Pretzel fpretzel@willcountyillinois.com
  • Steve Balich sbalich@willcountyillinois.com
  • Jim Richmond jrichmond@willcountyillinois.com
  • Janet Diaz jdiaz@willcountyillinois.com
  • Denise E. Winfrey dwinfrey@willcountyillinois.com
  • Mica Freeman mfreeman@willcountyillinois.com
  • Mark Revis markrevis@willcountyillinois.com
  • Julie Anne Berkowicz jberkowicz@willcountyillinois.com
  • Meta Mueller mmueller@willcountyillinois.com

Please ensure your emails clearly express your concerns. Your continued engagement is vital in ensuring our voices are heard. Please be specific and asked that your email be read into public comment/public record at the February 15th Will County Board Meeting. 

Your commitment and dedication to Homer Township’s well-being are greatly appreciated. Together, we can make a lasting impact on our community’s future.

Thank you for your unwavering support and advocacy.